Presidential Selection - Welcome

As you know, StFX's President & Vice Chancellor Dr. Sean Riley asked the Board of Governors in June to begin the process of identifying his successor.

The Board has begun the process of selecting the next President & Vice Chancellor in accordance with StFX's by-­laws. A selection committee of seven members composed of three members of the Board appointed by the Board, two members of the Faculty appointed by the Faculty, and a member of the student body appointed by the students has been identified. As Chair of the Board of Governors, I will chair the selection committee. The selection committee includes:

  • Mark Wallace, Chair
  • Rob Bennett
  • Kim West
  • Angus Mac Isaac
  • Dr William Sweet
  • Dr Charmaine McPherson
  • Ben Gunn-­Doerge

Consultation will be a key part of the search process as the Board and the selection committee refine the key priorities for the next President and describe the ideal candidate profile. Shortly you will receive an invitation from the selection committee to participate in a consultation process. I encourage you to share your ideas, hopes and perspectives with the selection committee so that we are well informed in this important decision.

We will also be establishing a website location to keep the StFX community updated on the search process. This website location will contain key information and updates on the search process and a link to allow you to communicate with the selection committee.

StFX has much to be proud of and it is our intention to conduct a thorough and comprehensive search to identify a President & Vice Chancellor who is able to work collaboratively with StFX community, build on our strengths and continue our success. I appreciate your support in this endeavour.

Mark Wallace (Chair, Board of Governors)