Research Advisory Committee

Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: Active

Committee Elected By: University Faculty

The Committee advises on University policy and practices related to research as follows:

  • Act as an advisory board for the Associate Vice--‐President Research, including but not limited to advice on evaluation of progress in research and celebration of research
  • Develop and support policies and programs that encourage research by St. FrancisXavier University faculty, as well as by graduate and undergraduate students.
  • Review,  advise and make recommendations to the appropriate academic committees (General faculty, AP&P, Senate etc)
  • Advise and make recommendations on research matters referred to the Committee by Senate
  • Advise on University Services and overhead in support of research
  • Advise on Outward policies of the University regarding research: particularly the Strategic Research Plan
  • Review and advise on the creation of new Research Centres and Institutes and the appointment of Directors of these.
  • Advise on the disbursement of Research Chairs
  • Advise on strategies to attain objectives and maximize funding
  • Review and advise on effective communication and dissemination internally and externally about research at StFX, including but not limited to the Research Website.

Eight elected members of aculty representing the diversity of the research clusters as outlined in the University’s Strategic Research Plan, at least one member from each Faculty, 1 Appointed member, Coady Institute, Ex-officio: The Academic Vice-President and Deans of Faculty, The University Librarian, and The Associate Vice-President Research (Chair).


8 Faculty Members

Coady International Institute Rep.

Academic Vice‐President and Provost
Associate Vice-President Research
Dean of Arts
Dean of Science
Dean of Education
Dean of Business
University Librarian


Committee Membership

Debra Sheppard-LeMoine2 Year2018-01-012020-10-01
Doug Brown3 Year2017-10-012020-10-01
Todd Boyle3 Year2017-10-012020-10-01
Ann Fox3 Year2016-10-012019-10-01
Samuel Kalman3 Year2016-10-012019-10-01
Ricardo Scrosati3 Year2016-04-012019-04-01
Christopher Byrne3 Year2015-10-012018-10-01
David Young3 Year2015-10-012018-10-01
Patti Hansen-Ketchum3 Year2014-12-012017-12-01
Mark Fuller3 Year2014-10-012017-10-01
Patrick Withey3 Year2014-10-012017-10-01
Hugo Beltrami3 Year2013-10-012016-10-01
Laurence Yang3 Year2013-10-012016-10-01
Karine LeBris3 Year2014-10-012016-10-01Sabbatical
Dan Robinson1 Year2014-10-012015-06-01on sabbatical July 1 2015
Robert Kennedy1 Year2014-10-012015-06-01on sabbatical July 1, 2015
Bill Marshall3 Year2011-10-012014-12-01On sabbatical Jan 1 2015
Charmaine McPherson3 Year2011-10-012014-10-01
Jonathan Langdon3 Year2011-10-012014-10-01
Petra Hauf3 Year2011-10-012014-10-01
Michael Newton3 Year2010-10-012013-10-01
Mark Fuller3 Year2012-10-012013-06-01Off due to sabbatical

22 members.