University Senate - Quality Of Life Committee

Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: Active

Committee Elected By: University Senate

(Reconstituted by the University Senate, 5 February 1979) (Became a sub-committee of Senate, March 1998)

The membership of the Quality of Life Committee is as follows:
a. The Head of Student Services
b. The Director of Ancillary Services
c. The Vice-President of the Students' Union
d. The Director of Student Life
e. Three faculty senators elected by Senate (April)
f. Two incumbent student senators nominated by the Vice-President of the Student Union, elected by Senate (April)
g. Three other students selected by the Student Union Vice-President in consultation with the Student Senator’s Caucus (October)

Terms of Reference:
1. The Committee shall be concerned with matters pertaining to the promotion of a quality of life conducive to the personal growth of St. Francis Xavier University students. This Committee shall report and make recommendations to the Senate on the development or maintenance of programs and services which serve to nurture students’ personal well-being and a healthy community. As required, this committee may also invite the Director of Student Life to Senate to speak about discipline and other matters.

2. The November meeting of Senate each year shall deal mainly with matters of student life including:
a. the program of extra-curricular activities including athletic, cultural and social events;
b. student-faculty-administration relationships;
c. the program of student services;
d. the provision of required physical facilities;
e. the inclusion of all students into all facets of campus life;
f. establishing policies pertaining to student conduct and discipline;
g. other efforts to promote the physical, mental, spiritual, and social well-being of students.

3. The Committee may, with approval of Senate, include any other aspect of University life which it sees as affecting the quality of life at this University.

4. In pursuance of its objectives, the Committee shall:
a. normally be co-chaired by a student and member of faculty;
b. consult with and advise other committees and officials on matters pertaining to its objectives;
c. serve as a forum for suggestions and recommendations from individuals in the University community;
d. make recommendations to Senate and/or appropriate officials for the implementation of programs, activities or services important to achieving its objectives.

DATE: April and October
TERM: One year (Students); Three years (Faculty)
NUMBER: Three faculty serving on Senate; two student senators; and three other students


Committee Membership

Doug Al-Maini3 Year2017-04-012020-04-01Faculty of Arts
Chris Gilham3 Year2017-05-012020-04-01Faculty of Education
Donna MacDougall3 Year2015-04-012018-04-01Faculty of Science
Deborah Graham3 Year2014-04-012017-04-01
Manuel Aquino2 Year2016-01-012017-04-01
Marion Alex2 Year2014-04-012015-12-01on Sabbatical Jan 1, 2016
Wojciech Tokarz1 Year2014-04-012015-06-01on sabbatical July 1, 2015
Peter Marzlin3 Year2012-04-012014-06-01on sabbatical July 1st
David Young3 Year2011-04-012014-04-01
V. Karunakaran3 Year2011-04-012014-04-01
Lavinia Stan3 Year2010-04-012013-04-01
Jason Potts3 Year2010-04-012013-04-01off
Ryan Billington3 Year2009-04-012012-04-01
Tara Taylor3 Year2008-04-012011-04-01
Adela Sandness3 Year2007-04-012010-04-01
Ottilia Chareka3 Year2007-04-012010-04-01
Peter Poole 3 Year2005-04-012008-04-01
Réjeanne LeBlanc3 Year2005-04-012008-04-01
James Cormier3 Year2005-04-012008-04-01off

19 members.